Finally a balance

It’s been six weeks since I started my new job and wow, what a change! I cannot believe how much my life has changed for the better since then. My work-life balance has improved incredibly and I no longer feel like Mondays to Fridays are all about work.

I now only work Mondays to Thursdays, which does make for long working days, from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM, but it means I have a three-day weekend every single week. I did not expect it to make such a difference. The work week feels so much shorter and goes by so quickly while the weekend feels a lot more relaxing and less rushed. Just this past week I have also started working from home one day of the week, which means I only spend three days at the office. So that’s even less commuting! I am now down to about 5 hours of commuting per week vs. 20 hours at my previous job.

My new job has been great. I am enjoying the work a lot more. There is incredibly much to learn but I think that’s a good thing! I am really excited to learn more about my work and delve deeper into the things that are new to me. My coworkers are nice and I am really enjoying working in such a small team & office. All around a fantastic change compared to a couple of months ago. I am so lucky!

This new job has been a real blessing and such a positive development for me and actually, for us as a couple as well. It’s like a big sigh of relief after the past 1 1/2 years.

This past weekend, I picked out a new bike. N. and I really enjoyed going out on the bike when I first moved here but my bike really didn’t do well on hills, gravel and forest paths. I have been wanting to buy a new bike for ages but I wanted to invest in a good quality one.

During my first week at work, I mentioned the Cycle to Work scheme at a staff night out, and my boss signed our company up for it – just like that. It means I can hire a bike through my employer for a year, with the payments taken out of my gross salary (this means I don’t pay tax or NI on the payments) and then after a year I can take over ownership of the bike. It’s a fantastic way of saving money and it allowed me to get a really good bike – and all it’s going to cost me is a salary reduction of £25 per month for a year.

So, hopefully in a couple of weeks, I will be the proud owner of this beauty:

Liv Rove 2 Disc DD Women's '15

Isn’t it pretty? (You can find more about it by clicking on the picture!) I can’t wait to go out on the bike with N. again and explore more of the fantastic area we live in. Our town is surrounded by beautiful nature, with the fields, forests and the sea basically right by our doorstep. It’s just a shame that it’s nearly winter – although I feel like so far we have been very lucky with the weather this autumn.

Next weekend, we are going to Germany for a five day trip, our first trip since October 2013, and then the weekend after we get back, we are going to a family wedding in Blackpool (that’s where N. is originally from!).

I imagine the next couple of weeks will be quite busy but I am really looking forward to seeing my family and friends back home and to spending some time in my hometown and N.’s hometown.

P.S. I changed the layout of my blog up a little, have a look around if you like!

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Finally a balance

  1. Good to heat that you like your new Job. Can you tell us a bit more about what you are doing?
    That the commuting is so short now compared to before must be fantastic and a big relieve.
    And only working 4 days is just plain awesome. Here I envy you a lot! :-)

    I started my work life with a 1 hour 10 Minute commute to Munich every day for two years, reduced it to 40 Minutes to Moosburg (for nearly 4 years) and am now by 25 minutes to Landshut (all one way). It’s such a relieve.

    And I am still on it to maybe get a Job in the same City I live in one day. :-) Which would mean a commute from about 8 minutes one way. Wouldn‘t that be amazing?

    • Haha, yes an 8 minute commute would be ridiculously amazing. At my last job in Germany my commute was actually a 10 minute cycle or 20 minute walk from my house.

      I work in online marketing & I do copy writing (blog posts etc.), SEO and PPC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s